Why You Should Never Go Greek

It’s happening. Every sorority girl is now sharing those videos all over their walls, pages, feeds, troughs, mountains, whatever else is popular nowadays. They all look the same: pretty girls laughing, being “candid,” and throwing up gang signs, telling you to “Go Greek.” What does that even mean, you ask? Well, as someone who’s greek, I’m not sure you should be watching such intriguing videos on the internet. Here’s 10 reasons you SHOULDN’T go Greek.

  1. You have to try in school. So this is an actual thing. Greeks have a GPA requirement. Who knew? You’d think we all just skip class and sit by a pool all day but no, we actually have programs in place to keep members GPA’s at a certain level. If they don’t, they could be suspended/kicked-out. Who wants to actually try in college?
  2. You’re encouraged to step up and be a leader 24/7. Oh my gosh. Don’t we all hate when people try to motivate us to be the best versions of ourselves? Ugh, I remember the first time an older sister told me she “saw potential in me and thought I should run for a position,” I wanted to cry. I mean, who says something like that?
  3. You have to make an effort on occasion. This is the worst. When people actually expect you to try to show up to things or put effort into relationships. Greeks actually are expected to participate on campus and get involved. It’s like they want you to be well rounded individuals before you graduate or something. 
  4. You get things like free clothes and netflix passwords. No joke. These people actually treat you like you’re friends. They let you go through their closets to pick out that outfit for your big date or give you their Netflix password just because you said that you had never seen “House of Cards” before. Who does that? Weirdos do.
  5. You don’t get judged for wanting to order pizza and watch the Harry Potter Marathon all weekend instead of going out. I was floored when I found this out. People actually are ok with not going out and getting wasted. They’re perfectly content with staying in and watching Harry Potter and sippin on some Dr. Peppers. It’s also rumored that they’re human and they too get tired of raging too hard. 
  6. You meet a lot of people. Ok, this is weird. Greeks actually have things called “socials” and “educational programs” where they have people socialize with one another or meet speakers coming to campus. They actually encourage you to make friends outside of Greek life and provide programming like career socials and guest speakers for your next steps after college.
  7. You occasionally have to smile but no one judges you if you dont. Apparently sorority girls are NOT required to smile all the time. But they do enjoy making things called “jokes” that force you to show your teeth. They also speak of something called “Chronic B**** Face” which many of them have and claim to not judge others for. Gosh I hope its not contagious.
  8. You’re constantly being told that you’re a stereotype. The media loves a good Greek Life gone wrong story, so it’s easy to be told that you’re nothing but a “functioning alcoholic in a dress” or someone who “pays for their friends.” But every conversation with someone who says that or tells you something “true” about Greek Life, just gives you an opportunity to educate them on what Greek Life is really all about. But who wants to stick up for their brother or sisterhood?
  9. You are expected to hold a certain level of decorum in public. You are actually expected to hold yourself to a higher standard of excellence. There’s an entire officer position dedicated to making sure the chapter and you (yes, YOU) stay presentable online and on campus. They call this position “Risk management” or “Standards,” and they’re some of the coolest yet most stressed people you’ll ever meet. Sucks to actually care about how you present yourself right?
  10. But you’re also expected to be ok with random dance parties in the library with your sisters. Even though you’re expected to hold a level of class, your sisters will still drag you into a study room to have a dance party at 4 am the night before your biggest final. They’ll also say things like “you’re my person” and “I’m your sister” and “I love you.” Gross right?

Terrible! Who would ever want to go through a few days of chatting with some pretty cool women to deal with all this stuff?

Well, I did. Yes, sarcasam was laced ALL throughout this post but I want to be serious. Going greek was the best decision of my life. I was challenged, I was pushed, and I was encouraged to be who I was and not apologize for it. I love being Greek, I love being apart of the Panhellenic Community. I have always been proud to be Greek and recruitment is probably the most “patriotic” Greek Life gets when it comes to showing off their letters. Greek Life is not a bad thing. It’s full of opporunity and community. It’s all up to you. You decide whether or not you want to enjoy the Greek Community. You decide how much you get out of the experience. 

So if you dont want any of the things above, maybe it’s not for you. But wouldn’t you rather go through recruitment just to make sure?

Dedicated to the chapter I ran to on bid day and the sisters I ran with. You’ll always be my first pick. Alpha Love forever and always.

Follow me on Twitter @maggieblairp for more inspiring works like this but in 140 characters or less. OR you can follow me on Instagram for pictures of food, dogs, and scenic views @maggiependergrass.

18 thoughts on “Why You Should Never Go Greek

  1. Stew Pidpost says:

    Your prose is sharp and your sarcasm masterfully subtle – I had finished the article before I realized you weren’t actually discouraging girls from going Greek.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lex Luxuria says:

    I love this. I completely agree, going Greek was one of the best decisions of my life. Now I am an alumni and I’m going to miss all the amazing things I did while in college with my chapter.

    Like

  3. Maggie Costello says:

    This was a wonderful read. I love how you kept your sarcasm through and through because I usually write completely sarcastically.
    Going Greek was one of the best decisions of my life and I love how you really emphasized how positive it really is.
    I go to a moderately sized school, and being a part of it makes it seem smaller, so I really have an amazing community of people around me.

    Oh and the whole “trying in school” is right, we like to share our notes and study guides and help tutor each other because who wants to learn?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hetal says:

    I am not greek, but I’m glad to have gotten a little perspective on what I’m sure many sororities sisters did get out of it. Unfortunately, on my campus, some of the things I hear about when getting involved in greek life are hazing, failing tests due to recruitment season. I hear of thr horror stories of sexual assault, and friendships being fake. These things stopped me from even trying to go greek. Especially when I saw these things for myself on campus. But maybe I should have tried. And maybe I would have found a niche where I wouldn’t have to be THAT person. Thanks for sharing your perspective 🙂

    Like

    1. maggiependergrass says:

      Not all two Greek Lifes are the same so there may be some of what you mentioned. But being apart of the solution to those issues are so much better than just assuming the problem will never change. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  5. Ellie says:

    I believe everything you said is true! I’m sure many people have positive experiences in Greek Life. But what about some of the deeper, underlying issues? For instance, I wanted to rush at my school but the dress code for rush automatically excluded me. I didn’t have money to buy a Lilly dress or Jack Rogers or J. Crew shorts. I feel that sororities, from the beginning, include only the upper (middle) class. My friends who rushed also had specific makeup requirements and when it was blazing hot were told it was no excuse to have running mascara. I feel that that places too much emphasis on physical appearance rather than true personality. I had a friend who was devastated when, at rush, a sister panned her body, made a note on a clipboard, grimaced, and then walked away. Also, at least at my school, the sororities were segregated. And this is not in the distant past. So while I’m sure it is great fun to be in a sorority, it may only be that way if you are a wealthy, “attractive,” white girl.

    Like

    1. maggiependergrass says:

      I totally understand where you’re coming from. I was lucky enough to be in a Greek life where that wasn’t the case. There are chapters across the country that do place the emphasis on appearance but there are also ones like mine that don’t care. I work a full time job in addition to going to school & being heavily involved on campus. I have never owned a pair of Jack Rogers or any item from Lilly Pulitzer. My chapter has a range of size, shapes, colors, and languages & I’m proud of that. I chose my chapter because the girl who rushed me the first day told me to take my shoes off & relax because I was already home. We talked about Star Wars. Yes,there are a lot of chapters who ruin it for the rest of us (I cannot even begin to defend them) but there are also really incredible groups of people too. We’re not perfect by any stretch though. I definitely agree that the system is broken. I’m actually posting about that next week. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  6. Carol Pendergrass says:

    Love the post! Love the sarcasm! Love you!
    As Maggie’s Mom, I took her to college with the knowledge that she wanted to go through fall recruitment. She had heard stories of the fun I had being Greek. She wanted the lifelong relationships. Yep, it’s my fault… I was a sorority girl.

    Maggie wanted to pledge her freshman year and while I wanted her to wait until she was a sophomore, I thought it was a great idea to go through recruitment. Since Maggie and I attended the same school, my sorority is still on campus there. It was important to let HER decide where she fit in, as I did a few short years ago. Secretly, I prayed that she would like my sorority but it was only fair for her to make her own choice. Other alumnae wanted me to let the chapter know that she was a legacy, but I didn’t want her treated differently. I wanted her to get the same experience as the other girls, even if it meant she went another way. She understood. As recruitment started and she began the process of going to houses, meeting girls, and figuring out where she fit in, I knew that this was a lifetime committment. I wanted for her, what I had experienced. As the week came to a close, she made up her mind. I was scared to ask. Her call came later that night. Tears came to my eyes as I found out that not only was she my daughter… she was also my sister.

    I agree with some of the comments that are written here about Greek experiences. And I will say, that not every day in a sorority is the best. Some days are tough. But it’s people, not just Greeks, who can make life tough. In life, we don’t always get along. Living in a house with 25-30 other people will sometimes bring out the worst in people. But it’s the lifelong bond that brings people together. Like Maggie said, it’s what you put into it that makes it better.

    I look back on my 4 years in the sorority and wouldn’t take anything for them… the good and the not so good. Looking back now, it prepared me for life. As an alumnae, I have kept in touch with many of my sisters, some I was closer to than others. We have made the effort to get together often to laugh and catch up. We don’t really remember the tough times. The vows we took in college are even more important to us now. And we are here for each other… we have supported each other through the death of parents and children and divorce,. That’s what friends do… no matter if they pledged a sorority or not.

    Like

Leave a comment